How much is free?


I could have leaked this album when I worked at Sony and made a small fortune. I had access to many albums before they were released. Nastradamus, Murda Muzik, Immobilarity et al, Sony had real problems with records getting leaked or bootlegged.

But as I worked there, I was able to see that if this album would have underperformed (in terms of sales), the consequence of me leaking this could have cost 20 of my colleagues their jobs. And these people have loans to repay, families to feed. They’re not like the execs who get 6 figure salaries and quarterly bonuses.

You see, when albums flop the staff are the first to get fired to cut back costs, once the executives see that the artists record won’t recoup. The artist won’t get dropped because the label will have to pay them due to breach of contract.

I’m not trying to guilt trip anyone, i’m just giving you my 2 cents. If you wanna download or cop bootlegs then go ahead.

Records like Peace God were worthy of paying for…plus I got to meet Claudette Ortiz, so I wasn’t leaking shit.

About Harlem World

the BAWSE *ross grunt*

Posted on November 2, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “The consequence of me leaking this could have cost 20 of my colleagues their jobs.”

    ^I never thought of it like this.

Leave a Reply

